~#WIPjoy Day 2: Why does your protagonist pull at your heartstrings?~

Well.

wELL.

well.

OKAY considering I have like a gazillion protags, I’m not going to answer this for ALL OF THEM. I also consider Simon my MAIN protag so obviously he’ll be spotlighted for this.

But yo how do I even answer this question.

Simon has always pulled at my heartstrings. I write Broken Wing about half first person from his POV, and half third person, usually from Brittany, Blaine, or Calvin’s POV. So I’ve always been pretty deep inside Simon’s head. His chapters are made up of heartbreaking internal monologue that reveals how hopeless and bleak his outlook is. He can’t remember anything from before his procedure, only random facts, but not memories. He thinks his wings make him horrendous and disgusting. He hates the little bird instincts he has that came with splicing his DNA. I just want to wrap him up in a cozy blanket and feed him hot chocolate and not let the world hurt him. (*coughcough* the world that I created oops *cough*) Simon is a very special baby to me and I love him.

Tomorrow: How do you get to know your characters?

6 thoughts on “~#WIPjoy Day 2: Why does your protagonist pull at your heartstrings?~

Leave a Reply

