~So I’m doing a thing~

Yo, I said I probably wouldn’t have a post out today but here I am. I have something to tell y’all that couldn’t wait. (I also didn’t want to risk forgetting XD)

BUT. 

I’m doing a thing. 

Guys I’m gonna do NaNo. 

I wasn’t going to because the last two years it’s ruined my writing game for months afterwards, but Wednesday I started reading Chris Baty(the founder of NaNo)’s book and… I had to do it. This is most definitely a dumb idea because I had five days to plan, but thankfully the story I chose is already fleshed out enough that I have plenty of material to work with. 

This is still definitely a dumb idea but I’m embracing it XD

Okay, but about Chris Baty’s book though. I read half of it on Wednesday during my flights. (Yep, traveling again.) Now, a) I hardly ever read while flying, b) it’s hard to find a writing book I really get into and enjoy, c) it’s nonfiction, which is even harder for me to get into, especially while being in a place like a plane, d) I can’t think of any more reasons. But you get the point. 

BUT BY THE SECOND PAGE I WAS ITCHING TO WRITE AGAIN. ITCHING. I’ve been out of my writing groove for months but by the time I got even a few pages in, I was craving it again. And by page five I had decided to do NaNo, even though there were only five days left in October. 

I’m so excited. Since last November I had decided not to do NaNo again because it messes me up so bad, but a few months ago I started yearning for it. Cue self control and rationalism to keep that in check. 

But I threw all that out after I started reading No Plot No Problem. I’ll fight through whatever happens after NaNo, but right now, I’m going to throw myself into it and enjoy every moment. 

~Yo Pickle

10 thoughts on “~So I’m doing a thing~

  1. HURRAY! That is so awesome! :D EMBRACE YOUR INNER INSANITY AND WRITE NANO WITH US! XD I’m so excited for you that you’re excited again (I know that writing-slump feeling as I’ve been stuck outside the writing groove since last December…) AND I WISH YOU THE BEST OF LUCK!!! You’ve got this, you awesome Pickle, you! ^_^

  2. Eeeep, I hope this goes super well for you!! And I’m really glad you’re inspired to write again THAT IS THE MOST EXCITING THING.

  3. MEH PICKLE IS DOING NANO OH HAPPY DAY.

    I hope you have the BEST time with it!!!

    I MUST read No Plot No Problem sometime! I’ve only been meaning to since I started NaNo…7 years ago. *cough* But it sounds amazing and yes! NEED.

    Happy NaNo’ing! I’m just soooo ecstatic you’re joining us crazies this year! XD

Leave a Reply

