~Pray for them~

But I say until you, Love your enemies, bless them that curse you, do good to them that hate you, and pray for them which despitefully use you, and persecute you. – Matthew 5:44

Pray for them which despitefully use you

Pray for them which despitefully use you.

When I think of the word ‘use’ I think of something like, I use a paper towel and throw it away. I think of something that has a one time use and then it’s not useful anymore. After it’s been used it’s just useless and must be thrown away.

I was molested as a child. I was used for someone’s pleasure. The only reason I don’t feel unsafe around that person now is because they’re no longer sexually interested in me, since I’m not a child. I’m not useful to them anymore.

Pray for them which despitefully use you.

Do you know what the definition of ‘despite’ or ‘despiteful’ is?

despiteful

despiteful2

Full of malice. Expressing malice or hate.

I was psychologically abused by family members that I should have been able to trust. Family members I should have felt safe around. Instead I felt uncomfortable, insecure, and ill-at-ease around them. To this day I have problems, and will have problems for my entire life, based on how those people treated me while I was growing up.

Pray for them which despitefully use you.

Pray for them.

Prayer is going into God’s presence and communicating directly with Him. Prayer is a very intimate, peaceful action that brings us straight into the throne room of God.

And while we are in that throne room, God tells us to pray for those people who have despitefully used us.

While we are in sweet communion with God He tells us to remember those people who hurt us. Remember what they did to us. Remember the hurt, the pain, the betray we felt when they used us.

God tells us to remember all that and pray for them.

Pray that God blesses them.

Pray that God keeps them safe.

Pray that God will work in their lives and do wonders.

Pray for God’s will to be done in their lives.

Pray for goodwill toward them.

God doesn’t just command us to forgive those who hurt us. To love them. We all know His command to ‘love our enemies’. But God commands us to remember what they did to us. Remember, and then pray to God for their well-being.

God does not tell us to forgive and forget. Rather, He tells us to forgive and remember. He commands us to remember.

To remember, and to pray for them which have despitefully used us.

~This Pickle

Save

Save

8 thoughts on “~Pray for them~

Leave a Reply

