~#WIPjoy Day 29: What’s the best thing people can say to you about this WIP?~

“It’s so original.”

Two people, Cait and Lauri//Christine, have said this to me and it blows me away every time. It seems in this world of so many books, originality isn’t even original anymore. Every writer seeks to have original stories, to bring an old thing to a new light, to shine an old light on a new thing. But it’s so hard to actually capture that illusive originality that I melt into a puddle of grhiogrhgiorklgeriod whenever anyone tells me Dement is original.

Also, any time someone loves my characters. Reads the book, and truly loves the characters and is invested in them, I just calmly lay on the floor and flail like an elephant. It makes me so happy when other people love my characters the way I do.

Also just anyone being interested in it and showing the slightest inclination to read it? Excuse me I have several feelings I need to feel right now.

Tomorrow(FINAL DAY): What are you planning for you next WIP after this one?

8 thoughts on “~#WIPjoy Day 29: What’s the best thing people can say to you about this WIP?~

  1. YESSSS OHHHH THESE THINGS ARE SO NICE TO HEAR! Just having people interested in my writing always floors me. I’m always kind of like “Wahh, really?!? You care?!” šŸ˜‚ Comes from having spent my first, like, 5 writing years with most people not caring at all about my writing. Meh to them.
    OH OH BUT YES DEMENT IS VERY ORIGINAL. Like, I mean, I’ve read books with all the elements you’re using, but not the way you’re using them. <— That's the key to originality. :')

  2. There I go, into a puddle of grhgiorhgiroheg again. BUT SRSLY THANK YOU OMO THAT MEANS SO MUCH AND IT IS //SUCH// AN ENCOURAGEMENT. Also it like, reassures me that no one else is writing//has written something like this so I don’t have to share my bbys with anyone XD

  3. Truly original books/story ideas are hard to find. But when you do find them, it’s such a thrill! I’ve never seen dragons and drug running combined before, so this is very intriguing!

    (I didn’t know elephants flailed. I’ve seen goats, chickens, dogs, and humans flail, but never elephants.)

    1. Thank you! I really hope I can make the fantasy aspects a bit more prevalent when I edit. Thorn deserves more page time XD

      BUT the sequel, which focuses on Nevaeh’s younger brother, is definitely more fantasy oriented because it’s about trafficking sea nymphs >.>

  4. IT’S TRUUUUE. I mean, modern day drug crime story with FAIRIES AND DRAGONS. It screams ORIGINAL.

    It is so very hard to write anything original. There’s just so MUCH out there now. But we also have to remember only WE have our voices, only WE can tell the stories in our hearts, no one else.

    I also go into skdjfksjsdkfj mode when people say nice things about my stories. Encouragement is fuel for us writers!

Leave a Reply

