~#WIPjoy Day 25: What do your characters feel like to you? Kids? Friends?~

Definitely like kids. Definitely like friends. Definitely like I’m the manager of an asylum. Definitely like too many people stuck inside my head vying for attention.

I would probably say they’re the most like friends though. The kind of friends you are with your cousins or siblings. You love them because they’re yours, and you’re stuck with them, and you truly do love them for who they are, but man, it would be nice to have a break from them sometimes XD But you would miss them the instant they left, if they did.

My characters are part of me. If they suddenly disappeared from existence, a HUGE part of me would vanish with them. My brain would be 67% empty and lonely and hollow. My characters are very comforting to me; I can always count on them to be there, in the back of my mind, bickering with each other and ready to tell me more about themselves.

They drive me crazy and throw plot twists at me, kindly let me know when two stories have merged (or have always been the same, I just didn’t realize it), or suddenly two previously-unrelated characters are now brothers (looking at you, Simon and Elias).

But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Tomorrow: What keeps your working on this WIP?

6 thoughts on “~#WIPjoy Day 25: What do your characters feel like to you? Kids? Friends?~

  1. “Definitely like I’m the manager of an asylum.” <– I DIE. IT'S SO TRUE. xD

    Actually, I so VERY MUCH relate to everything you said! Especially the thing about them being like cousins you adore but want a break from but know you'd miss them. YOU DESCRIBED IT PERFECTLY.

    Also, I shamefully haven't been commenting, but I've been reading every single one of these posts and enjoying them IMMENSELY. Seriously, I look forward to reading the newest one every day. This is just so fun and your story sounds amazing and so unique. A drug/crime thing with FANTASY ELEMENTS. o.o Like…SO ORIGINAL.

    1. AWWW LAURI THANK YOU. It’s okay, you don’t have to comment. BUT THANK YOU FOR TELLING ME YOU’RE READING THEM AWWWW THAT MAKES ME SO HAPPY. You can read Dement if you want. I’m posting the chapters on Wattpad as I write them ^.^ The link is in my ‘Contact Me’ page.

      I honestly figured most writers could relate to what I wrote//I wrote what every writer feels toward they’re characters BUT IT DOESN’T MAKE IT ANY LESS TRUE JUST BECAUSE EVERYONE FEELS THE SAME WAY ABOUT IT.

  2. “The kind of friends you are with your cousins or siblings. You love them because they’re yours, and you’re stuck with them, and you truly do love them for who they are, but man, it would be nice to have a break from them sometimes XD But you would miss them the instant they left, if they did.”
    “My brain would be 67% empty and lonely and hollow. My characters are very comforting to me; I can always count on them to be there, in the back of my mind, bickering with each other and ready to tell me more about themselves.”
    My thoughts exactly!

Leave a Reply

