~Blog Tour: Paper Crowns by Mirriam Neal~

Several years ago(three, I believe), I was on the blog tour for Mirriam’s debut novel Monster. I am elated to tell you that today I bring you the start of the blog tour for Mirriam’s second novel, Paper Crowns! For more information and a schedule of the entire tour, head over to Arielle’s blog.

I have watched this novel grow from a spark of an idea, to the published book it is today. I remember watching Mirriam write one or two(or three!) chapters a day. Every morning for a month when I woke up and turned my computer on, I knew I could count on seeing a new chapter waiting for me. (And the few times there wasn’t one I promptly had to email Mirriam and make sure she was still alive XD) On a good day, a second chapter might appear in my inbox in the early afternoon. On a magical day(I think this only happened once or twice) a third chapter could come by late evening.

I am constantly amazed at the variety of genres and styles in which Mirriam writes. She predominately writes about very tough and serious issues, or has enormous, over arching, world building plots. But every once in a while she takes a step to the side and whips out a lighter, fun read that leaves you just as satisfied as her other novels. It’s like eating sherbet after a steak dinner. Both are satisfying and lovely, for completely different reasons.

In preparation for writing this post, I reread the beta document to refresh my memory of the details. Oh my WORD did I forget so many details XD I forgot what Hal’s cat voice was like in Ginger’s head. I forgot what a rotten booger Azrael is. I forgot about the Verily Muffins. I forgot about Astryn and *SPOOIILLLLLEEERRRRR* (still slightly crying over that one, Mirriam). I forgot about Salazar(HOW COULD I).

Honestly, even though this story stayed in my heart and my love for it never dimmed, I forgot why I loved it. I forgot how wonderfully foreshadowed it was. I forgot all the little details that make a story a tale. The thought that there’s even more revised content that I haven’t read in the published edition makes me elated XD

I was going to write a review, but I think I’ll just settle for this:

If you ever need a blue cat, a ginger queen, a heartless wysling, a fire elemental-turned child, a paper dragon, a magical ward, a Mattigan, and a Badger-dog in your life, you know where to find them.

(Also, Azrael is mine. So no touching.)

pc

Ginger has lived in seclusion, with only her aunt Malgarel and her blue cat, Halcyon, to keep her company. Her sheltered, idyllic life is turned upside­down when her home is attacked by messengers from the world of fae. Accompanied by Halcyon (who may or may not be more than just a cat), an irascible wysling named Azrael, and a loyal fire elemental named Salazar, Ginger ventures into the world of fae to bring a ruthless Queen to justice.

Find it on Goodreads, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble.

Find Mirriam on her blog, Publishers Page, and her email, the­shieldmaiden@hotmail.com

index
Mirriam Neal is a twenty-two-year-old Northwestern hipster living in Atlanta. She writes hard-to-describe-books in hard-to-describe genres, and illustrates things whenever she finds the time. She aspires to live as faithfully and creatively as she can and hopes you do, too.

Check back throughout the month as I will be updating this post to include links from the rest of the tour.

~Your Picklicus.

Blog Tour Links:

Arielle – Splendor Falls on Castle Walls: Author Interview.

Anna – Adventures of Annapuppy: Book Spotlight.

Ashley – Unlikely Things: Author Interview and GIVEAWAY.

Jenny – The Pen Slayer: Six Reasons Why You Need This Book.

 Abi – Whimsy Writer: Book Spotlight.

Ashley – Paper and Keys: Book Spotlight.

Tracey – Adventure Awaits: Author Interview.

Emma – Peppermint and Prose: Author Interview.

Eli – Inexhaustible Inspiration: Author Interview.

Wren – The Wrenaissance Woman: Author Interview.

Liz – This Side of the Stars: Author Interview.

Heather – Tatterdemalion: Author Interview.

Brian – Wilder Ground: Book Spotlight.

Erudessa – The Flowering Vales: Book Spotlight.

Bethany – Ramblings of a Young Author: Book Spotlight.

Elizabeth – The Odyssey Online: Book Spotlight.

Christine – Musings of an Elf: Book Spotlight.

Ness – Of Words & Books: Author Interview.

Katherine – Seek Him First: Guest Post.

Leanna – Lilly’s Scribblings: Book Spotlight.

Keturah – Keturah’s Korner: Book Spotlight.

Rachel – Rachel Rossano’s Words: Guest Post on Wyslings.

Kendra – Knitted By God’s Plan: Author Interview.

Deborah – Road of a Writer: Author Interview.

Ophelia and Michelle – Opinions, Thoughts, and General Ramblings: Guest Post on Character Development.

Rana – The Gingerling: Author Interview.

Sarah – On Another Note: Author Interview.

Jessica – Jessica Greyson: Book Spotlight.

 

11 thoughts on “~Blog Tour: Paper Crowns by Mirriam Neal~

  1. Aww, that’s such a sweet and nice review, Lisa!! :D I read Monster eons ago and loved it and I LOVE talking cats in books, so I should probably try this one eventually. ;D

  2. EEEEK! <3 I love this post. :D And ever since hearing about its publication, I've been reminiscing and thinking back on aaall the gloriousness of this book YES and I just alskdjflskjdflkjs I CANNOT BE COHERENT WHEN I THINK ABOUT IT BECAUSE I LOVE IT SO MUUUCH. I'm looking forward to the published version (and desperately hoping it will have all the things I love in it still. XD It would be kind of awkward to be quoting it constantly — as I still do — and for those quotes to not be in the finished book for instance. :P) AAAZRAEL YES. (He may be yours but I love him too. ;)) AND WE MUST NOT FORGET HAL. <3333 Basically I adore this book and could talk all day about it so I will hush now. ;)

Leave a Reply

