~Chicken Pot Pie Soup~

So earlier today I posted on Instagram that since my parents are gone for the day, I made Chicken Pot Pie Soup and Oatmeal cookies for myself. Well, at least four people have asked for the recipe, so I decided to type it up into a nice handy blog post for everyone ^.^

Honestly, I just googled ‘Chicken Pot Pie Soup’ and found about three recipes that looked good, and then sorta made my own from those three. I rarely measure anything when I’m cooking(unless it’s something like cookies XD) so these are all very approximate amounts.

  • 4 tablespoons butter.
  • Two large boneless chicken breasts
  • Two red potatoes
  • Four carrots
  • Two stalks of celery
  • About 3/4 of a cup of frozen green peas.
  • One smallish yellow onion(ground in food processor)
  • Half a package or maybe a cup and a half of mushrooms. (I got a package of sliced mushrooms and just dumped them in, but I think it would have been better to cut them up smaller, or put them through the food processor first.)
  • Three cups of chicken broth or a whole carton
  • Two ish cups of water
  • One cup of milk
  • 1/2 of flour (it didn’t thicken up much, so I would suggest quite a bit more if you want a thick soup)
  • Approx. a tablespoon of garlic. Maybe two
  • A couple teaspoons of Italian seasoning
  • A couple teaspoons oregano

(This made about a medium batch, so for larger families or leftovers, I would suggest at least doubling all these amounts and using a large stock pot or even a crock-pot.)

I did not make a white sauce with the butter, milk, and flour, but you can, and I probably will next time. I wanted to pan fry the chicken, onion, and mushrooms instead, so I melted the butter in the bottom on a stock pot and tossed the onion in. While that was browning//sauteing, I cut up the celery, carrots, and chicken. Then I tossed in the chicken. Since it was a stock pot and not a pan, I had to stir it a lot for the chicken to get ‘pan-fried’ in the butter. Then I dumped in the mushrooms and stirred until they were coated in butter and started to wilt a little.

After that I poured in the chicken broth, water, and milk, about one cup at a time, stirring before adding more. I sprinkled the flour on top in three segments, whisking it in each time. This is where making a white sauce would have helped, so I wouldn’t have had to whisk the flour to avoid clumps. But I was surprised how well the whisk worked, even with chunks of mushroom floating on top. I just whisked the very top of the broth//liquid, where the clumps were floating, and it took care of them pretty quickly.

(All the while this has been on medium-high heat, btw. Sorry I left that out.)

Then I tossed in my vegetables(celery, carrots, potatoes, peas) and stirred a lot. After it was well mixed up and I brought the heat down to low-ish, I dumped in my seasoning(garlic, Italian seasoning, oregano).

I let it simmer on very, very low for over an hour to let the flavors develop, and because I like my potatoes mushy-soft, while I made my oatmeal cookies. Then I sat down and ate two whole bowls while watching a movie. And I’m about to go heat up another bowl. I didn’t even add salt or pepper, this soup is just so good. I’m definitely going to remember this one and make it as often as I can XD

~your Pickle

4 thoughts on “~Chicken Pot Pie Soup~

Leave a Reply

