~The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater~

Basically Maggie Stiefvater only writes amazing things so go read everything with her name on it immediately(including her tweets).

BUT if you actually want my opinion on this particular Steifvater book, please continue.

(Aish, Cait is turning me into as bad a Steifvater fangirl as she is.)

(wait, that’s a good thing.)

IMG_0065

I was wary of this because one of the characters come from a family of psychics, so I wasn’t crazy about that at all. Also there’s some stuff that could be considered magic, but it’s sorta like modern fantasy, so I just enjoyed it as a fantasy and ignored the psychic stuff that I didn’t like. It’s not overbearing either, like in-your-face, so it was easy for me to pass over.

ASIDE FROM THAT THIS BOOK IS GOLD GO READ IT.

*cough* ahem, I mean

This book was a wonderful mix of modern setting, Welsh history, folklore, legend, a little bit of magic, and just… awesome. I can’t even describe it.

The plot and the characters were balanced REALLY well. I’m still amazed. It’s just perfectly balanced. REALLY character driven, but the plot is still strong and SO. SO. interesting.

I loved all the characters. I don’t think it’s possible to NOT love them all? You just have to be in love with all four of the raven boys simultaneously and with a little Blue on top. (Okay, a lot of Blue.)

Blue is amazing. She’s definitely girl, but she’s a STRONG girl. She’s amazingly balanced as well and I love her interactions with the boys, both before and after she befriends them. All of them are just precious okay? Okay.

The magic, Welsh history and kings and everything was just FASCINATING. It wasn’t overdone, or unrealistic for it also being set in modern day Virginia. Some of the psychic stuff toward the end was a leetle creepy, but that was all. I can’t wait to get my hands on the next book.

~Pickle

P.S. I forgot to mention, this book does have some language in it.

6 thoughts on “~The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater~

  1. Oh, I’ve really wanted to read this one! Let me ask you, other than the weird magic things was there anything else iffy in there? Language or, ya know, OTHER things? There as so many things I want to read, but I never know what kind of material they have. I’m always so happy when friends read books I want to so I can ask. *grins*

    1. oh shoot, yeah there was a little bit of language. I forgot to mention that. There wasn’t anything romantically inappropriate, but there was some serious language. (not a TON. but it was there)

Leave a Reply

