Ice cream and breathing.

I promise that title will make sense by the time you finish reading this post.

So I’ve been sick all week which means I can’t breath or sleep very well. Breathing and sleeping are things we take very much for granted when we aren’t hindered from getting them. How often do YOU sit in your chair and think “it’s so nice to be breathing right now”?

I’ve also had a milk allergy since I was about five or six. That means I haven’t been able to have ice cream FOR AS LONG AS I CAN REMEMBER. All you lucky people out there who don’t have dietary restrictions, how often do you look at a glass of milk and think, “I’m so glad I can drink this”? Nope. You just chug it down, toss the cup in the sink, and go on with your life.

My point is, stop. Stop being too busy and rushed to realize and enjoy the things around you. Be thankful that you’re healthy and can eat whatever you want. Be thankful that you can walk and have two strong legs. Be thankful that you can talk, see, hear.

Stop taking things for granted and slow down to experience what’s in your life and be thankful for it.

#postnumbereight

7 thoughts on “Ice cream and breathing.

  1. Awwwwww I am so sorry you are sick! D: *HUGGLES* I HOPE YOU FEEL BETTER VERY SOON DARLING!!!

    And yes, this is a good post and a verrry good point. We do take too much for granted. Like, after being sick myself, when I got over it I was so thankful to be able to MOVE and THINK. (Okay, that sounds extreme. But I was achy and exhausted, so it was so nice to be able to move without that, and literally my brain was too foggy to really process anything. So yeah.)

    Thanks for the good reminder of a post! GET BETTER! <3 <3 <3

  2. *sniffles* I hate our Pickle is sick. I’ll be praying you get better very soon! <3

    This post was fantastic. My brother has a milk allergy as well! He can't have a single thing with milk in it. It's so sad because he loves ice cream and pizza and just anything cheesy in general, but he can't have even a bite of any of that stuff. So I very much sympathize with you. That's just awful!

    Because of my brother's allergies I've definitely learned to be grateful for the things I can eat. God has very much helped me learn to never take things for granted through my own many health issues. I used to take so, so much for granted, but He's teaching me. But I still fall so short. This post was a perfect reminder to stop and remember all that we have.

    Thank you for the wonderful reminder. Love you!

  3. I HAVE BEEN SICK, SO I COMMISERATE WITH YOU. Only I had a stomach bug and wasn’t thinking about food for ages. haha. BUT I HEAR YOU ABOUT MILK!! Right now I’m not allowed dairy, grains or sugar…I mean, Lisa. What’s left in the world to eat? Fruit and nuts and meat and veggies. *cries* I love diary like nothing before AND I CANNOT HAVE IT. LET ME CRY. (I crave cheese.)

    1. I UNDERSTAND *huggletight* I haven’t been eating sweets since I’ve been sick(except for a little bit of ice cream and nutella yesterday) but most of the time I don’t feel like eating either. Being sick stinks.

Leave a Reply

