Mini-views

So remember those three books I got from the library two or three weeks ago? These ones?

20141216_130014

Well, I have read two of them and four chapters of the third one. Since I have to give them ALL back tomorrow I will give you a packaged deal of all three reviews in one post. And since they’re bundled together, they will all be mini reviews, or as the title suggests, Mini-Views.

In the order that I read them:

https://lisapickle.files.wordpress.com/2015/01/3f7dc-splinteredbookcover2.png?w=286&h=423

The only word that really needs to be said here is: Morpheus. But since you(maybe) haven’t read this and don’t know who Morpheus is, I shall expound.

Splintered is sort of an Alice in Wonderland rewrite, sort of a companion, sequel series? Sort of… something like that. It’s about Alice’s great great great something granddaughter and how she(Alyssa) goes back to Wonderland and has adventures very similar to Alice’s. So you see how it’s a rewrite, companion, sequel series…. thing.

But the plot twists.

How many pages are in this thing? Yeah, that’s about how many twists are in it. This book is so stimulating and deep and wow and amazing. The plot blew me away. The characters were several steps down from the plot, in rating, but the plot is amazing. I wish the characters were just more. Not really specifically any one things, but just better and more… more-er. Anyway, I did enjoy the characters(especially Morpheus) as well.

There’s not really any ‘content’ in this, language wise or otherwise that I can remember… maybe a couple words but nothing horrible bad. There were a couple sentences that I sort of cringed at and thought “okay that wasn’t essential to the plot” but it wasn’t explicit.

I rate this four stars and suggest it for girls over age 15. My conscience won’t let me recommend it to boys, just because of the few cringe-worthy sentences and things that were mentioned.

 

https://i0.wp.com/vilmasbookblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/08/16059938.jpg

Black Ice.

This was interesting. Enjoyable. Different. Unexpected.

I’d never seen or heard of this book before I grabbed it off the shelf and read the blurb. It didn’t seem horrible bad so I checked it out.

I liked it. It was a bit different than I expected, yet sort of exactly how I expected, you know?

Here’s the blurb:

Brit Pheiffer has trained to backpack the Teton Range, but she isn’t prepared when her ex-boyfriend, who still haunts her every thought, wants to join her. Before Britt can explore her feelings for Calvin, an unexpected blizzard forces her to seek shelter in a remote cabin, accepting the hospitality of its two very handsome occupants;but these men are fugitives, and they take her hostage.

Britt is forced to guide the men off the mountain, and knows she must stay alive long enough for Calvin to find her. The task is made even more complicated when Britt finds chilling evidence of a series of murders that have taken place there and in uncovering this, she may become the killer’s next target.

But nothing is as it seems, and everyone is keeping secrets, including Mason, one of her kidnappers. His kindness is confusing Britt. Is he an enemy? Or an ally?

That’s literally the book. I won’t rewrite it in my own words because this is a very good and accurate blurb. The last third of the book takes a very sudden turn that I liked, and the epilogue is really sweet and wraps it up nicely. The beginning was a little slow… but not dragging. Slow as in not fast and instantly-grabbing. It wasn’t ‘un-put-down-able’ but nor was it boring.

There is one part where the characters sleep together and though it’s not an actual scene, you know what happened. So keep that in mind when considering this book.

Other than that, I would recommend this book. It’s not a bursting five stars, but I gave it a four on Goodreads.

 

https://i2.wp.com/d.gr-assets.com/books/1329094480l/13027831.jpg

This looked rather appealing though I’d never seen or heard of it before, I threw it on my pile with Black Ice.

It’s interesting. And I’m not sure if it’s interesting in a good or a bad way.

It is super, hugely, 110% packed and overflowing with spacey-sci-fi. Which is good, if you like that stuff. I don’t dislike it, so I haven’t given up on it yet.

I’ve only read the first four-ish chapters of it and it seems like the plot is going to be really deep and dark and big. I have to return it tomorrow along with the other two books because I’m leaving for CA on Friday, but I’ll probably check it out again when I get home(if I remember. That’s the real test. Has it made enough of an impression on me that I’ll even remember to finish reading it?)

So far unrated.

(and neither of the first two books count toward my 50 books for this year because I finished them in December)

#postnumber2

 

11 thoughts on “Mini-views

  1. Mini views. I like this idea. :D
    I wrote something called Splintered once so I cringe every time I see it around the interwebs. XD Glad you liked it though. And ooh! –hope you have a good trip! ^_^

  2. WELL. YOU KNOW HOW I FEEL ABOUT MORPHEUS. *cue endless flailing and gawwwwshes* ALSO, I’m going to read Black Ice soon!! I’m just digging through any books that have to go back to the library or are ARCs and then I’m reading Black Ice. XD That’s actually the problem (for me) about owning books…they don’t have like a “read by this date or die” due date on them, so I always put them at the bottom of a pile no matter how much I want to read them. *sigh* I’m weird.
    BUT WE ALL KNOW THAT.

    1. NO I’M THE SAME WAY. I have at least half a dozen unread books on my bookshelf that I WANT TO READ but then I go and check books out from the library and those ones are more important because due dates and all, so those ones get read and the ones I actually own get abandoned. I feel so bad because those ones should be my first priority.

  3. I’m afraid I just couldn’t get into Splintered. It was a DNF for me. I never actually made it to Morpheus; Jeb (and Alyssa) turned me off so much that I gave up.

    I really should try to read something else by Garth Nix. I read Sabriel years ago, and loved it. I know Nix has written quite a few other books… but I’m not sure which ones I’d enjoy the most.

    1. Yeah, I can see how Splintered wouldn’t be for everyone. On the Jeb//Alyssa level it almost wasn’t for me either but I hung on because I wanted to find Morpheus and see if I would love him(and of course I did XD).

      I’d never heard of him before I saw A Confusion of Princes and I’m looking forward to getting that book back when I come home and reading more of it.

Leave a Reply

