Beautiful Books Linkup #3: Let’s talk Editing

Actually let’s not because I don’t like to edit.

But you are good followers so I will relent and talk about my NaNo again.

Cait and Sky(awesome bloggy peeps who do awesome bloggy things. Go check them out) made the blog Tag, Linkup, Meme thing Beautiful People and for November time frame, they are doing Beautiful Books to help writers with their NaNo novels. (Or any novel. But the exact time and placement of this three month change revolves around the activity known as NaNoWriMo.)

So. Observe this button.

And note that Cait is Notebook Sisters but she changed her blog this week to Paper Fury.

Now observe this one.

Exactly the same, but smaller, and without the URL addresses. What sharp eyes you have, my dear.

Now la questions. Staring and Featuring Virtual Reality. My NaNo.

1. On a scale of 1 (worst) to 10 (best) how well do you think this book turned out?

Well… umm…. part of me wants to say 2 and part of me wants to say 8. It turned out really well (8) but not at all how I was expecting and quite a lot different than I was intending(2). But I love it so much and I am very happy with it.

2. Have you ever rewritten or edited one of your books before? If so, what do you do to prepare yourself? If not, what’s your plan?

I super fast edited VR because I finished it the Wednesday before NaNo ended and Sunday night(the night NaNo ended) I emailed it off to a contest. So I surface edited for typos and clarity and making sure there weren’t any wonky sentences and it all(hopefully) made sense. I also tried to start editing Dement a couple months ago but since that whole book decided to be rewritten, then editing it doesn’t really have a point anymore. SO IN ANSWER TO THE QUESTION: Yes and half. In answer to the second question: I don’t? I just find contests to enter and edit 28,551 words in five days and pack it off to the publisher’s house(not recommended. Take at least seven days to edit. Makes it two days easier). Third question: I’m not planning anything except for writing my WIP that was paused during NaNo. If I win the contest and WestBow wants to publish my book, I’m pretty sure they’ll supply me with an editor to help me. (at least I hope they do.)

3. What’s your final wordcount? Do you plan to lengthen or trim your book?

28,551 words as mentioned above(if I remember right. Somewhere in that ballpark). I do want to lengthen it a bit and clean it up(my plot is…. yeah. Mhmm). If I straighten out the plot and clear up stuffs and everything I want, then I estimate it will be over 35k at LEAST if not closer to 40k.

4. What’s are you most proud of? Plot, characters, or pacing?

Probably characters. The way Shelby interacts with her characters came off like I wanted, if a bit different than I had in mind. But the general idea and image you get of them is JUST how I wanted it. And in general I love them all.

5. What’s your favourite bit of prose or line from this novel?

I can’t just pick one, but off the top of my head I really enjoyed writing the make up scene, and the stuff toward the end of the book about Kaylie and the revelation of what she is was really fun(even if at the time I had no idea what I was doing. It was still very fun and interesting).

6. What aspect of your book needs the most work?

Plot. Definitely, definitely the plot. It didn’t help that I only had some general ideas for this book and not ACTUAL REAL plot at all when I started. It came eventually and I like what it turned into, but it’s REALLY sloppy and all over the place and needs to be cleaned up desperately.

7. What aspect of your book is your favourite?

Again, the characters. I fully believe that they really MADE this book. They are the heart of this book and their relationships and banter and everything they did together was wonderful.

8. How are your characters? Well-rounded, or do they still need to be fleshed-out?

They could do with a little shading and filling in, like you do at the end of a drawing when it’s almost complete, but in general I am very happy with what they are. The biggest thing is plotting out Kaylie’s back story and incorporating it better into the book so it’s not as messy as it turned out.

9. If you had to do it over again, what would you change about the whole process?

The NaNo process? Or the book process? I’m not sure. I really enjoyed all of it. But I should have plotted. Man, should I have plotted first. I would definitely do that if I could do it over. But then the book might have turned out differently. So who knows?

10. Did anything happen in your book that completely surprised you? Have any scenes or characters turned out differently to what you planned? Good or bad?

Kaylie and Gareth were unexpected but a good surprise and they ended up being very vital to the book. But everything about Kaylie at the end… talk about plot twist. I like the idea of what happened but it needs to be completely redone better and tighter and all. The whole BOOK sort of turned out different than I had intended(one of the only ideas I had for this was Shelby being transported into her book and literally writing it while it happened around her. Hence the title. That didn’t happen but I like how it turned out).

11. What was the theme and message? Do you think it came across? If not, is there anything you could do to bring it out more?

The message I really wanted to get across was that anyone can write if they just put their heart and soul into it. I wanted to show the closet writers and introverts and all the people who never tell anyone that they write ARE and CAN become authors and finish their books and make their dreams come true. Shelby, my main protag, doesn’t tell her family until Thanksgiving that she wrote a book(and finished it) because she’s so afraid that they’ll make fun of her and tell her it’s a dumb idea and not to do it. I also wanted to capture the relationship of a writer to her characters and I’m really happy with how that turned out too.

12. Do you like writing with a deadline (like NaNoWriMo) or do you prefer to write-as-it-comes?

NaNo was an experiment for me to see if I COULD reach a goal(50k) under and deadline(Nov 30). I learned a lot(I wrote a post about it) but I like writing on my own timetable instead of cramming so much. Next year I think I’ll aim for 50k in whatever WIP I have then, and I think I’ll try Camp NaNo this coming year and see how it goes, but in general I don’t like it. I enjoyed doing it this year, but I don’t think I’ll ever become a veteran NaNo-er who wins every single stinkin’ year XD (congrats to those of you awesome people who do though.)

13. Comparative title time! What published books, movies, or TV shows are like your book? (Ex: Inkheart meets X-Men, etc.)

Well, considering I don’t really even know what GENRE Virtual Reality would be in… it’s contemporary and fantasy at the same time. It might very well be in a category all on it’s own but I really have no idea what other books it’s like. If there are any out there, I haven’t read them XD

14. How do you celebrate a finished novel?!

By starting a new one. That’s what I did with Dement and Illum, both XD But with VR, I celebrated by editing for five days and then sending it off to the contest XD

15. When people are done reading your book, what feeling do you want them to come away with?

I want them to be inspired and energized to fulfill their own dreams and wishes, whether they be writing or something else. I want them to get a snapshot of what the writer’s life is like and want to possibly try it out for themselves.

So that’s my book people. Don’t forget to check out Cait and Sky’s blogs and read up on the Beautiful People meme ^^

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Books Linkup #3: Let’s talk Editing

  1. *whispers* I think you should check out Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld. I haven’t read it yet, but it’s about a writer and an alternate world or something. Apparently it’s good. ;-)
    ANYWAY.
    YAY FOR NANO! Even if you don’t prefer it! I loved the community spirit, but I kind of wrote too fast to enjoy it because I was done when everyone else had started chatting/forums/comparing notes/posts and all that fun stuff. I need to work on my attention span. >.>
    I like the sound of your message a lot though. *nods* I completely agree.
    HAAA BAH AH. Yes, the urls were wrong, but hey, if you type in notebooksisters.com it redirects to paperfury so that’s at least cool. lol
    Thaaaaanks for linking up with us!!

Leave a Reply

