Beautiful Books Round 2: How’s The Writing Going?

Herro. How is you reader peeps? I’m is pretty good. NaNo is working well for me, sort of. I’ve been caught up and alternately behind about three times. I think it’s because when I’m caught up I feel like I don’t have anything to work toward, whereas when I’m 2k behind and I get completely caught up and in the green again, I feel like I’ve really done something ^^

I’ve also fallen into a nice routine. NaNo is surprisingly not eating my life. If anything I’m slightly less busy and life is a little slower now than it was a month or two ago. I think it also helps that I’m not traveling any time soon XD

So I get up in the morning, anywhere from 7:30 to 9:30, get my coffee, read my Bible, pray, check my email, facebook, catch up with the Pack, dink around on the Nano website, all that, and eventually I get to my document and try to figure out how to start. Starting each day is probably hardest for me, but I think that’s because half the time I DON’T know where to go with it because I did only a tiny bit of plotting XD It doesn’t take me long to get up and going though, if it’s going to be a good day, and usually I blast out 1k before I realize it and another thousand isn’t far behind. I get up regularly, eat breakfast at ten or eleven o’clock, and intersperse my writing with more facebook, email, regional Nano chat, youtube, etc. For me I tend to write better and longer if I interrupt myself frequently for only a few seconds at a time. (Except for when I watch ASMR videos on youtube. Then I end up spending 20 minutes or more and come away very, very tired and I can hardly keep my eyes open XD But that’s my fault.)

I usually reach my 2k by the middle or late afternoon and I treat myself to a computer game and after supper I watch one or two Merlin episodes. I get in bed somewhere between nine and ten-thirty.

I don’t know if I will do NaNo next year. It’s not all that I expected, but it is teaching me that I can easily writing several thousand words a day without feeling pressured or stressed. And getting behind is NOT that bad of a thing. It’s easy to catch up to your word goal.

Now the actual title of this post is Cait and Sky’s Beautiful Books meme so I better get to the questions before I forget XD

  1. Be honest: how is your writing going? I kind of told you already, but it’s going surprisingly well. I was ready to do nothing but eat, sleep, and NaNo for a while month but I’m able to do lots of other things without feeling really rushed or anything.
  2. What’s your first sentence/paragraph?Okay, so I’m going to write the thing. I’ve never written a word in my life and I’m not even sure I understand everything about NaNo but I’m going to do it.

  3. Do you have a book cover, and/or pictures that reflect your book? Ummm, nope. I wish I did, but I don’t really have any pictures for this book. Not even a pinterest board. For shame. (I really haven’t been on pinterest much and when I am it’s just to catch up on a few of my favorite boards and not to browse.)
  4. Do you have pictures of each of your characters? If not, describe them for us! (Be as descriptive as you can.) Shelby is blonde with maybe hazel green eyes. She’s nineteen and 5’8 ish. Daniel has dark hair and eyes. Sonya has dark maroon-red brown hair and hazel eyes. Gareth is very dark and rough looking. Black hair, dark eyes, and scruffy face hair. In fact, I DID write a good sized paragraph about how he and Kaylie look. I’ll just copy and paste it.
    Kaylie seems younger than her… they assume brother. He doesn’t look old enough to be her father. Her face is youthful and soft, her skin smooth. Her hair is thick and brown with loose messy curls. Gareth’s face is darker and wears lines in the right places. Laughter lines around his eyes that blend with cheek lines that merge into shallow wrinkles that spill from the sides of his lips. There are three distinct lines between his eyebrows as if he’s used to frowning, but he doesn’t do it all the time. But his eyes betray that he’s more likely Kaylie’s brother than her father.
  5. What scene are you most excited to write? The only real scene//chapter I actually have planned and plotted is Thanksgiving when Shelby finishes her novel and comes out and tells her family and they’re super supportive and everything and she thought they wouldn’t be. I am looking forward to writing that and I hope it comes out the way I have it in my head.
  6. Share a snippet or a scene that you really enjoyed writing. Like Mirriam said in her Beautiful Books post, I can’t copy and past the whole book XD I really don’t have too many favorites when I write but did love this unexpected turn that happened yesterday:I sit on the toilet and let her draw on my face with powder and mascara. I have absolutely no idea what I’ll see in the mirror when she’s done. She could just as easily be making my cheeks fair and white, with a touch of blush, and thickening my lashes with barely a hint of eye shadow as she could be layering foundation and golden powder and blush and blue eye shadow and thick black eyeliner. No matter what she does I know I’ll somehow look perfect and feel fabulous.

    “Beth, what’s she doing?” I ask, curious.

    “Be quiet, you know the rules.”

    I try not to smile as Amy smears something all around my face. I think every single time we’ve gotten together since Amy was about fifteen and discovered make-up, she’s done my face and they never let me see what she’s doing until she’s done. We’ve already decided that she’s going to school to be a make-up person artist whatever thing. Beth and I are going to help her with her tuition. I think so far we have like twenty dollars saved up for it.

  7. Now that you’re writing, have any of the plot details, or the process itself, turned out different from what you planned or imagined? Gareth and Kaylie were totally unplanned, but since I hardly plotted at all save for the main idea of the plot, I can’t really say too much turned out different. I’m just letting it fly the way it wants. Shelby’s friends taking her out for a girls day was something I never would have pictured though.
  8. Is there a character or aspect of your plot that’s difficult to write? The whole thing? Ish? Pantsing REALLY stinks sometimes and then sometimes it’s the most funnest thing in the world. Like I said, when I start writing in the morning it’s hard to get going, but whenever I feel stuck, I just channel my frustration and feelings into Shelby. I keep writing, it bumps my word count, and it’s fun to see how her characters react to her struggles.
  9. What’s your favorite aspect of this novel so far? Favorite character? Everything. I love Shelby, I love Gareth and Kaylie, I love them all. The whole thing it coming out so much more funny and fun to write than I imagined.
  10. Have you drawn off of any life experiences or people you know to create your novel and your characters? I know that Shelby is basically me and Vandi told me that Shelby’s friend Beth is somewhat like me too XD Aside from little things here and there from friends and maybe family, I’m mostly just pouring myself into these characters and this story.
  11. Do you have a playlist or certain song for your novel and/or characters? Nope. Not eben one song.
  12. Let’s have some fun for a moment: imagine you are somehow transported into your book’s world. Which character are you most likely to be found hanging out with? ALL OF THEM. Wow, how could I pick? I love all five of them and I know I’ll love any more than wander in. Shelby would be awesome fun to hang out with, but Daniel and Sonya are cool too and Kaylie is adorable and Gareth is sort of maybe really attractive. (Just ask Shelby. She accidentally burned her fingers inher coffee while thinking about him.)
  13. How do you keep yourself motivated to finish your daily wordcount? (Pinterest? Internet breaks? Chocolate?) Youtube, Merlin, and computer games are my reward at the end of the day but I don’t really work toward those. Sending out chapters and getting feedback is a wonderful motivator and when you have evil friends like Vandi who tell you they won’t discuss certain topics with you that you are passionate about until you catch up your word count, then, well, you don’t really have a choice.
  14. What your favourite writing quote or piece of writing advice? Not sure I really have a favorite, or maybe my brain’s just too tired to think of one XD I’m sure there are several key pieces of advice rolling around in my skull, but I can’t bring any to mind right now.
  15. How does this book make you feel so far? Are you laughing? Crying? Frustrated? Happy? I’ve laughed out loud a couple times I think. Yeah, a little frustrated and tired at times and there are always days when I gloriously don’t care how far behind I am and only write a few hundred words, but overall I’m really happy with how it’s turning out.

So that’s my story people and the questions Cait threw at us. Your turn. How’s YOUR month going?

8 thoughts on “Beautiful Books Round 2: How’s The Writing Going?

  1. It sounds like you’re having an awesome time writing! I enjoyed the snippet you enjoyed writing… cosmotology is great fun in le bathroom. :D Good luck in Nano!

  2. YAY NANO! (I just like saying that. It just kind of sounds awesome yelled to the world. Honest. Try it.) Aaanayway. I’m glad this book is keeping you smiling! And you sound like you have an awesome routine. But omg, breakfast at 10?! I WOULD DIE. I eat at like 7:30-8 for breakfast. And even then I’m so ravenous I nearly explode. (Granted I’ll have just come back from a run, but pffft, low blood sugar or something I think.) And Merlin! OH. I want to watch Merlin! I’m watching Leverage at the moment…and Supernatural, but Leverage is all out so lots of episodes of people stealing things. Mwhaha. My favourites.
    Aaaanyway. Sorry. Back to the topic at hand. Yes.
    I hope you keep up your awesome routine and things keep coming along smoothly!!

    1. I can’t eat right away when I get up unless it’s something light, like a biscuit, and my coffee keeps my blood sugar high enough that I can last til ten-ish XD

      And YES Merlin! It’s not a deep show or anything it’s kind of light and very magic-y but I like it. It has a fairytale feel to it instead of high fantasy. I’m forcing myself to finish it before I start AoS because I won’t watch Merlin if I’m also watching something else XD

Leave a Reply

