Virtual Reality: my first ever NaNo

Heyo, people, Iz am doing NaNo this year. I’m uber excited and this morning has been awesome. I’m kinda going to do a ramble, chronicle thing mixed up with the questions from Cait and Sky’s Beautiful Book meme.

This morning I got up at 6 after going to bed around 8:30 ish and laying awake from four to after five. That did not make me happy but apparently seven hours of sleep was enough. I dragged myself out of bed and proceeded to spam Ashley with snapchats all morning as I went about my routine(cuz she’s my nano buddy and she said I could and even if she hadn’t I still would have spammed her. It was the best and funnest ever).

Because, obviously, my routine will not be messed up, even for NaNo. I’m not hugely ridged about my routine, but it will happen every morning unless it’s nearly impossible(read: whenever I am out of town and not at home. That’s usually the only time it gets messed up or skipped).

SO. I got up, got my coffee, decided not to eat a muffin, read my Bible, had my prayer time, and got on the computer at about a quarter to eight. Good day. (Insert about 50 or more snapchats to Ashley in between nearly every single activity and move I made during that time.)

Laptop is on, complete with three more snapchats to Ashley, and my document is already open because I pinned it to my browser last night. Commence writing 1059 words and then devouring Mirriam’s first chapter of Acceso.

(I haven’t read that novel in over a year and it’s wonderfulous and perfect and raw and everything it was before and more. I am happy.)

Then I ate breakfast at almost nine o’clock and then Ashley finally got up and we snapchatted a whole ton more. And I found a grape in my milk. Still have absolutely no clue how it got there.

Then I wrote some more and snapped some more and pet my cat and read a couple blog posts and here I am. Now for the novel questions.

These are from Sky and Cait’s meme. I don’t really want to say I’m linking up with them(also these questions are from a long time ago. Couple months I think) but these are their questions that I am borrowing for this post.

So. Here thou art.

  1. What came first: characters or plot idea?
    I really can’t remember. I’ve had this idea rattling around since at LEAST February, probably longer. I think I only pinned it down to be my Nano around February. I think they both came to me around the same ish time. Daniel and Sonya definitely came a little later, but Shelby and the general idea were there together.
  2. Are you a plotter or a pantser? Shameless pantser and enjoying every minute of it. I am learning to plot some of my other novels, but I usually don’t do it unless I have to. This novel is definitely going to be thrown together any ol’ way it comes because I kept nearly all my plotting in my head and I haven’t seriously plotted or dwelt on it months. I just let it simmer on it’s own and now I get to see what it turned into.
  3. Do you have a title and/or a “back-cover-blurb”?
    Both! When I made my novel on the NaNo website and I looked at the synopsis box, I just started typing and wow a blurb appeared. This are it:

    Shelby has never written a word before in her life, yet when she reads books all her heart yearns to do is put pen to paper and create her own. So when she finds out about the annual writing contest, NaNoWriMo, she decides to take a risk and plunge in with both feet. 

    She never expected the adventures she would have or friendships she would forge with her new characters as they drag her into a dangerous quest involving princesses, dragons, and sibling rivalry. Somehow she has to write 50,000 words of this before November 30th and she has no idea how it will happen. 

    And of course my title is Virtual Reality but that doesn’t really fit it anymore, I’m just using it cuz I don’t have anything else.

  4. What wordcount are you aiming for when your novel is finished?
    Whatever word count it ends up being at the end. I really only want to read 50k and finish it within the month. As long as it’s 50k or more, I don’t care. I don’t estimate final word counts for my novels.
  5. Sum up your novel in 3 sentences.
    I just gave you a blurb, why do I have to do this. Shelby decides to write a novel. Novel takes over her life. She goes on an adventure with her characters. There.
  6. Sum up your characters in one word each.
    Shelby: Quiet. Sonya: Strong. Daniel: Calm.
  7. Which character are you most excited to write? Tell us about them!
    All of them really, but Shelby is proving to be really fun and writing Sonya and Daniel through her is very interesting and new. Right now Shelby is my favorite though.
  8. What about your villain? Who is he, what is his goal?
    There isn’t really a villain… in Shelby’s side of the story she’s just trying to finish a novel, so that’s the opposing force: Can she do it? But in her actual novel, the villain would be the dragon who kidnaps the princess.
  9. What is your protagonist’s goal? And what stands in the way?
    For Shelby: finishing the novel. For Daniel and Sonya: They must rescue the princess and figure out how to do it without agreeing to the dragon’s demand.
  10. What inciting incident begins your protagonist’s journey?
    The dragon burns up the capital city and Sonya and Daniel get chosen to rescue the princess, in the hopes that they will get killed in the process. Shelby didn’t plan for the city to burn up, it just happened.
  11. Where is your novel set?
    Shelby lives in her house, somewhere cold so I’m thinking north-midwest. But that’s not critical for the story at all. Daniel and Sonya live in a fantasy world.
  12. What are three big scenes in your novel that change the game completely?
    I don’t know, I don’t plot that far ahead.
  13. What is the most dynamic relationship your character has? Who else do they come in contact with or become close to during the story?
    The relationship the crops up between Shelby and her characters is something she never thought would happen. She’s never written anything before, so she had no idea that she could even HAVE relationships with her characters. Daniel and Sonya, being siblings, will hopefully provide some levity and sibling rivalry, which shows how close they are.
  14. How does your protagonist change by the end of the novel?
    Shelby realizes that she can do the thing and starts believing in herself and her dreams more.
  15. Do you have an ending in mind, or do you plan to see what happens?
    I have no idea how Shelby’s actual story will end, but I do know how my novel will end, after she finishes her novel on Thanksgiving and ends up telling her family that she wrote a book.
  16. What are your hopes and dreams for your book? What impressions are you hoping this novel will leave on your readers and yourself? (This is your mission statement, one you can look back on when the road gets tough.)
    I want to succeed on my first NaNo attempt. I’m not sure what impressions my book will leave but I estimate that it will show readers how fun and captivating writing is, and that if you don’t chase your dreams, no one else will.
2 thoughts on “Virtual Reality: my first ever NaNo

  1. I feel like this is incredible writer-inception because it’s a NaNo novel about Nano. THAT IS JUST COOL. Can I take a minute?!
    *flails*
    And you’re fine! These are like the October questions and we’ve put the November edition up now. XD
    So aaawesome you have a writing buddy! I am all over twitter/instagram atm with my writing quotes and just plain weirdness. WRITING IS FUN. It’s even more fun when everyone is doing it!

    1. fank you i lubs mah widdle stowy.

      and it really cool to write about Shelby writing her story PLUS also be writing her story so you get two stories in one. It’s awesome and hard and cool and sometimes I love it and sometimes I just want to crawl into bed XD

Leave a Reply

