Beautiful People–June 2014.

Funny story about when I was a baby writer and baby blogger last year(I have lots of stories like these): I saw Mirriam’s posts about Beautiful People and I loved it and it was so fun and I wanted to do it but I didn’t know exactly what it was annnnnnnd come to find out it’s actually a blog meme hosted by Sky and Cait. Also funny story: I did not realize that the Sky Cait talked about in her BP post was actually the Sky who’s on Mirriam’s beta lists. I should have noticed because Sky//Kylie is a tea-spitter(the founder of it, actually) and so is Mirriam AND so is Cait and I KNEW that they all knew each other but I didn’t realize that MY Sky, the beta-list Sky, was actually THAT Sky.

So. That being said.

I am participating in Beautiful People because I love this meme and you have no idea how happy I was when I found out what it was and that it was being started up again after being on hiatus for like… over a year or something.

https://lisapickle.files.wordpress.com/2014/06/98d9c-beautifulpeopleblogbutton-option2.png

I have so many new characters that most of you probably don’t know about and it’s so HARD to pick just one. I had it narrowed down to either Simon(Broken Wing) or Rose(Criminal Princess) and I chose Simon because I’m sorta-kinda-trying-not-to-but-am(are?) writing his story one leetle page at a time. (Seriously, YOU try to focus on one story when you have a character who’s flapping his wings all over your face and you can’t concentrate.)

(Now I made you curious.)

SO. SIMON. NOMINATED FOR BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE. (because he really is beautiful, just you wait and see.)

QUESTIONS:

1) What is their full name and is there a story behind why they got it?

I haven’t picked out a last name for either Simon or his brother, but I’m working on it. I was it to be something simple and fresh and interesting. I picked Simon because it is all those three(at least I think so). I was thinking about naming him something exotic and weird and cool but due to the content of his story, I think a simpler name fits him better. He also has a nickname of ‘Wings’ because he is the first experiment to survive and continue living after the operation that attached wings to his back. He is also known as “4.12” in the computer system.
2) How old are they, and when were they born? 

Simon is in his early-mid twenties. I haven’t given a whole lot of thought to the details of his story yet, but he’s probably 24 or 25. As to when he was born…? I don’t know if I understand that part of the question.
3) Describe their physical appearance. (Bonus questions: 1. What is their race/nationality/ethnicity? 2. Do you have a picture of them? If so, include it!) 

I do nooooot have a picture of him, more’s the pity. A picture of him would be wonderful but alas, I do not have one. He is tall, 6’0 or 6’1. He has dark hair, probably not black but a deep blackish-brown. He has a roundish-oval face. Not sure what color his eyes are. He is very strong and muscular, due to drugs and chemicals used on him after the operation. He does look like a very daunting opponent if you’re on his bad side.
4) Describe your character’s personality first in one word, and then elaborate with a few sentences. 

Just one word? I could use a dozen individual words for him but I think when it all boils down I would say say sweet. Simon really is a very sweet person. It’s not very visible right now because he basically hates himself now that he has wings. He thinks he’s a disgusting, horrific human monster and he can get angry and frustrated with the people around him who made him into what he is. Before all that happened to him, and even know, down beneath all the hurt and pain and confusion, he is a very sweet, gentle, and loving person.
5) What theme song(s) fit their personality and story arc? 

Usually I don’t have songs for my characters because I don’t listen to songs that would lend themselves to being theme songs, but Simon actually does have a song. It’s called Broken Wing(his story is named after it) but I forget who the artist is. (Vandi, help me here.) Vandi dared me to write a song-fic dare based on that song and I didn’t do it until a few weeks ago and that’s when Simon was born.
6) Which one of the seven deadly sins describes your character? 

(Technically all sins are ‘deadly’, but I won’t get into that.) I’m not sure, but right now he does have anger issues, due to his circumstances.
7) If they were an element (fire, water, earth, air), which one would they be? 

Either earth or air. Probably air(you know, wings and all).
8) What is their favorite word? 

Freedom.
9) Who’s one person they really miss? (It could be someone who’s passed away, or someone they’re not close to anymore, or someone who’s moved away.)

His family. I don’t know if he could chose just one person(his brother, mother, or father). He misses them all and he’s very concerned about them because he doesn’t know anything that’s happening outside the facility that he’s trapped in.
10) What sights, sounds, and smells remind them of that person?

Brittany, a scientist at the laboratory, reminds him of his mother because she is a gentle, quiet person. Laughter would remind him of his brother Elias, because they were very close friends before Simon was taken away. Men’s cologne or shaving cream would probably remind him of his father.

 

16 thoughts on “Beautiful People–June 2014.

    1. I think once Illum is done he’s going to wrestle Broken Wing out of me before anything else gets a chance to raise it’s head. He had no idea what plotting is or why it’s important -___-

  1. Don’t you love it when you get that AH HA moment about people. x) I was chatting to someone on Goodreads once and I had noooo idea who they were! But they were chatting to me like we were old buds. lol I finally figured it and felt sooo stupid. >.< But it's kind of awesome. Anyway. YAY FOR SKY. SHE IS GREAT.

    oh, and I also love your interview. He's tall! I love the sound of Simon. Sweet. N'aw. I'm a sucker for sweet characters with wings. x) I hope you have a good time writing this book. ;)

  2. Yes, you made me curious. XD and this is awesome. and when you finish it I want to read it?
    also, because I just discovered it this weekend, have you ever heard of the show Dark Angel?

      1. oh, I definitely am also – this is some sort of sci-fi where they’re genetically engineering children to be the perfect soldier. I really don’t know where the name came from. XD And I don’t really know anything else about the show either, it just looked super intriguing, so I’m trying to find out if anybody knows anything about it, and your answers reminded me of it. XD

    1. Hello, Jameson! Yes, Simon is a wonderful challenge to write, especially since I write Broken Wing in first person present tense, but I love it. It feels so good to stretch myself and try new things, and it’s really fun to get inside Simon’s head. I’ll see if I can post a few snippets or a scene from his story so you can read more about him ^^

Leave a Reply

