My Writing Process

http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ1EwFae_kDbxqnrbtvbB_6uJqzMV6lXg-HN-kcNiIVj0IyjbQiMwUsually, when you ask a writer what their writing process is, you’ll get a vague, “Uhh… I sit down… and write?”

This was my answer for the longest time until a few days ago when I realized HOW I write. I know that sounds a little weird, but I seriously had not thought about or studied how I wrote. But I discovered that when I write, I interrupt myself constantly.

That doesn’t sound very great, but let me explain. Instead of sitting down and pounding out page after page after page, I’ll write a sentence, and then glance at Facebook. I don’t usually even read anything. I just twitch tabs to Facebook, and then back to my document. I’ll write a couple lines of dialogue, and then check my email really quick. Then another paragraph, and a look at Pinterest for 30 seconds. And this works for me! If I’m really into the chapter I’m writing, I can still get out about a 1,000 words an hour, maybe a little more.

I don’t suggest you try this because it’s probably not the ‘right’ way to do it, and it’s probably just a bad habit, but it works for me. Instead of writing hardcore for half an hour and then taking a ten minute break, I constantly give my brain a break every couple sentences, just for a few seconds. This way, I can write for hours if I have a good outline for the chapters I’m working on, and my fingers don’t get cramped, my brain doesn’t get tired, and I don’t burn out.

I guess the concept here is I don’t force myself to write 500 words before letting myself rest, or giving myself a reward. Every other sentence I ‘reward’ myself with a glance at Pinterest, or replying to an email.

Unless you think this might work for you, I don’t recommend trying it, but who knows? It might work for you too. Just don’t get distracted or bogged down in scrolling through Pinterest boards or reading everything on Facebook. The goal is to write.

Whatever your writing process is, as long as it works for you, that’s all that matters. Maybe there is a ‘right way’ to do it, but that doesn’t mean it’s right for everyone. If your process works for you, then it’s right for you, and don’t feel bad because you think it’s tardy or unprofessional.

One thought on “My Writing Process

Leave a Reply

