Guest Author Mirriam Neal and her debut novel: Monster!

MonsterBlitzBanner

Mirriam Neal is my author role-model, let me start by saying that. Without Mirriam and her amazing blog, I would not be where I am now in my writing. Actually, Regillion wouldn’t even be completely born. So you can see how important she is to me and what a help she’s been ^^

And now I am endeavoring to return the favor as much as I can by helping to promote her first published novel; Monster.

The year is 2053, and the world is recovering from a Morbus, a plague that swept across the globe, destroying millions of lives. Eva Stewart is a promising young WorldCure scientist assigned to a facility in Alaska where she is made a Handler and given her own human Subject for research and experimentation. What she believes to be a step up in her career becomes a nightmare when she discovers writing on her Subject’s cell wall.

“I still have a soul.”

Soon Eva is drawn into a horrific plot kept quiet by WorldCure, and as everything she knew collapses around her, she must discover the truth behind her Subject, her beliefs, and herself.

Set to be released on June 15th, I can’t wait to my hands on my own copy! In the mean time though, I had a short interview with her on the subject of her book.

Thank you so much for allowing me to host you on my blog. I can so excited for Monster to be released. It was fun reading it before but reading it again in solid book form will be amazing.

1) How did Monster first come to you? What was the very first spark that inspired you to write it?

The very first spark that inspired me to write it was Big Bang’s song/music video “Monster.” The song became a permanent fixture in my head, and the music video grew into a complete novel in my mind.

2) How long did it take to write Monster?

It took about six months. I began it in May and ended it a few weeks before NaNoWriMo. The editing and rewriting took longer, of course.

3) What was your motivation to write Monster?

My motivation for writing…I loved it. I fell in love with Mir the second he came into my mind, and I wanted nothing more than to spend time with him and discover his story. To do that, I had to write. So I did.

4) How do you think Monster affected//changed you? (or did it?)

Monster affected and changed me in a lot of ways. My beliefs in God and the sanctity of life were strengthened, and I became a stronger person.

5) How long was it in the workings before you sat down and wrote the first word?
 Oh, not long. I had the idea and I began to plot it the next day. It was becoming a novel before the week was out.
6)This might be a hard question to answer, but who is your favorite character from Monster? Or do you have a favorite? And why?
My favorite character is definitely Mir. It’s not a hard question at all. He challenged me, loved me back, and surprised me every time I sat down to tell his story. It was amazing.
 
7)How does it feel being so close to finally being a published author? Are you excited? Nervous? Is it a dream-come-true?
7. Monster is released on the 15, and it all feels a surreal, like I’m walking through a very good dream and don’t want to wake up. I’m so grateful to God, my parents, and Mir. I feel like exploding at random intervals. I’m a tiny bit nervous, but not as much as I thought.
8)When you first started writing Monster, did you ever imagine you would write a sequel? Or were you planning for it to be a stand-alone novel?
I always planned Monster to be a standalone. I thought it would definitely be a non-sequel book, but after a while people began to ask me if there would be a sequel .My response was “No” until a plot idea strangled me in the middle of the night, and pieces began to fall together.

9) What time frame do you have for Monster: The Mortality Cure to be finished//published?

Honestly, I don’t know. I’ve only just begun it, and it isn’t in my top priorities right now. I have other novels I want to finish first; plus, I want to see how Monster does on its own!

I can’t wait for more of your books to be published! I wish you the best and hope you have a long career of bookwriting.

Now for the info of how to get your hands on your very own copy! On June 14th, Mirriam will be hosting a giveaway on her blog, Thoughts of a Shieldmaiden. (I don’t even know what exactly she’s giving away. She said it was a surprise. So now I am dying to find out what it is XD)

Also, on June 15(Release Date!) there will be an Amazon Blitz for Monster meaning that everyone who can, buys the book on that date. So if you’re interested or planning to buy it, make you do it on the 15th!

And I wasn’t the only one who got to interview the author! Please check out: Sofia’s Interview.

7 thoughts on “Guest Author Mirriam Neal and her debut novel: Monster!

  1. When I think that Monster only took sixish months to write… Sheesh. I’m even more impressed than before. :)

  2. I love that you jumped right on that creative bandwagon as soon as the idea came into mind for Mir… I try to do that, only because the ideas that are brilliant are often fleeting in my brain, and if I don’t write it down immediately, I forget, and am left with that horrible, void, I-missed-an-important-moment feeling. Must. Meet. Mir. :-)

    1. Yes. You. Must. Meet. Mir. XD I can’t wait to get my hands on my own real copy this week(hopefully), even though I’ve already read it ^^ That was a couple months ago though and I’m excited to read it again.

      And I know that feeling! Like when you’re about to fall asleep and you think of something amazing and you tell yourself, “I can’t forget that. I must remember it. I will write it down first thing in the morning.” And then in the morning you can’t remember, but you know you were going to write something down! Sooooooo annoying XD

Leave a Reply

